CFI Involvement with Advisory Groups

We advocate on behalf of consumers for a stronger, science-based food safety system that improves public health through the prevention of foodborne illness.

CFI team members serve on a variety Food Safety Boards/Committees/Advisory Groups including:

Groups Representative
FDA Science Board Dr. Barbara Kowalcyk (chair)
National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI) Teresa Schwartz
National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria For Foods (NACMCF) Dr. Tanya Roberts
Conference for Food Protection Executive Board Gina Nicholson Kramer (Academic Representative)
Ohio Environmental Health Specialist Advisory Board Gina Nicholson Kramer
Coalition for Poultry Safety Dr. Barbara Kowalcyk

Allison Howell

In addition to the groups above, our public service activities (past and present) also include:

  • Encouraging the development and implementation of stronger food protections by:
    • Educating decision-makers in the public and private sectors on important food safety issues;
    • Facilitating engagement of Ohio State faculty, staff, and students with decision makers to more broadly disseminate the research being conducted at Ohio State;
    • Conducting briefings and meetings with Congressional, USDA, FDA, and CDC staff;
    • Coordinating the development and submission of comments in response to Federal Register Notices related to important food safety issues.
  • Serving on a number of national advisory committees, including
    • CDC Board of Scientific Counselors;
    • Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) Surveillance Working Group;
  • Participating in coalitions aimed at improving public health and food safety, including:
    • Make Our Food Safe Coalition;
    • Safe Food Coalition;
    • Alliance for a Stronger FDA;
    • Ohio Retail Advisory Council (Barbara Kowalcyk participated as member until December 2022)
    • Supporters of Agricultural Research;
    • Stakeholders Forum on Antimicrobial Resistance.